Acting as if

I know two people who were directly spoken to by God.  Having chatted to them both and heard their stories, I have no questions that this actually happened.  I also know lots of people who hear God speak to them frequently; I have less confidence in some of these.  We are called to be discerning and to distinguish between the voice of God, the voice of Satan, the voice of the rest of the world and our own imaginings playing tricks.  The trouble is that I have become more and more unsure, as I walk the Christian life, about what God wants specifically from me.  I have been wondering (prompted by small internal voices and the nudges of friends) whether he wants me to write for him and have asked him to tell me directly one way or other.  He hasn’t yet.  So I have decided to act as if he does – to put out my fleece.  Not to test God but to act in faith.  Let’s see what happens.

4 thoughts on “Acting as if

  1. You wrote: The trouble is that I have become more and more unsure, as I walk the Christian life, about what God wants specifically from me. My opinion in response (for what its worth): You are in a good place. That is a place where humility before the Lord can be developed. Write on!

    Like

Go on, tell me what you think. Thank you.

