Is That Really The Best I Can Be?

This morning on twitter I posted the following “Morning everyone – be awesome today. That’s all.” I then went out for an hour. When I came back a number of things happened.

Firstly, I was taken aback by the positive response I had had from such a throw away (possibly vacuous?) tweet; retweets, favourites and responses abounded.

Secondly, I noticed one of the responses was from Shawn, my new twitter friend. He said “be all you can be today, whether great or small. That’s all the LORD ever expects of you”. I rather like this – it lets me off the hook from being awesome and challenges me to be awesome all at the same time.

Thirdly, I saw a picture of Nigel Farage, a man of conservative respectability (and other things), as a rather younger man, in full punk regalia, flicking two fingers at a policeman.

The heading was THE PICTURE #UKIP TRIED TO BAN. Nigel Farage pictured in 1983.

I immediately re-tweeted it, feeling rather smug.

I then immediately deleted it, feeling rather grubby.

Is this really the best that I can be, a mixture of schadenfreude, hypocrisy and nastiness? Someone else behaving badly leading me to point the finger and enjoying their downfall? No I don’t think so. I suspect I am/can be better than that.

What is the best that I can be? I’m not sure. What does awesome look like? That I do know, because I have a rather good role model for that and his name is definitely not Nigel.

I shall try to be awesome today. I shall fail and that is OK. What I will also try to do is not jump in the gutter. That’s all.

Go on, tell me what you think. Thank you.

