Why Does God Make It So Woolly?

“It’s all so unlikely!”  This is a statement that my husband makes about God and His ways.  It makes it difficult for him to accept everything lock, stock and barrel.  Actually I think that this is a blessing because it makes him really think about things rather than taking everything at face value.  He is a natural born scientist and wants to test everything – this is part of his walk with God.

But the question about why God, specifically Jesus, didn’t (doesn’t) make things clear still stands. Here is my answer – it is not well formed or particularly theological, but it is where I stand on the matter.

1) God can’t spell it out to me in my humanness anymore than I can spell it out to an ant.

2) God could give me the understanding if He wanted but for some reason chooses not to.

3) By having to work things out for ourselves we question aspects of our relationship with Him and that relationship grows as a result.  God could give us a love potion but would it be love?  I don’t think so.  I value my relationship with my husband, my children, my family and my friends precisely because our relationships have imperfections.  And despite those imperfections we love anyway.  A love that is tested and tempered is a love that is strong, refined, valuable.

4) Knowledge requires no faith, no trust, no risk, nothing to strive for.  The Pharisees had knowledge; did them no good what-so-ever.

God wants us to fall in love with Him not just be in love with Him.  So we walk with The Rabbi and learn at a pace that we can cope with.  The alternative would be to be zapped with knowledge; to be given a love potion. No thank you – I prefer the journey of discovery.

“For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

Go on, tell me what you think. Thank you.

